218k views
2 votes
A-1 is holding the ball in the backcourt, B-1 is guarding A-1 and within 6 ft for a 5 second count. The official calls a 5 second closely guarded violation. Is the official correct?

User Goodhyun
by
8.6k points

1 Answer

4 votes

The question is about basketball rules, specifically the 5 second closely guarded violation. This violation is called when an offensive player in the frontcourt is guarded within six feet for 5 seconds without passing, shooting, or dribbling the ball. But, the described situation happens in the backcourt, so the official's call is incorrect.

The situation described in the question pertains to basketball rules. According to widely accepted basketball rules, a 5 second closely guarded violation is called when a player is continuously guarded within six feet by any opponent in the frontcourt while holding or dribbling the ball and fails to get rid of the ball within 5 seconds. However, in the backcourt, the 5-second closely guarded rule doesn't apply. Therefore, if A-1 is in the backcourt, then the official's call of a 5 second closely guarded violation would be incorrect.

Learn more about Basketball Rules

User Nalnpir
by
8.5k points