102k views
2 votes
A-1 and B-1 begin to fight. The Team A head coach runs onto the court to try and break up the fight. The official issues a direct technical foul to the Team A head coach for running onto the court without being beckoned. Is the official correct?

1 Answer

5 votes

Yes, the official was correct to issue a direct technical foul to the Team A head coach for running onto the court without being invited. This action violates the rules of basketball.

The official was correct in his decision to issue a direct technical foul to the Team A head coach. In basketball rules, team personnel, including coaches, are not allowed to enter the court unless they are beckoned by an official. In a circumstance such as a fight, the official would typically first attempt to defuse the situation before calling for additional assistance. Since the Team A head coach ran onto the court without being beckoned, they violated the rules, justifying the technical foul assigned by the official.

Learn more about Basketball Rules

User SurajKj
by
8.1k points