41.2k views
4 votes
The penalty for a forward pass, batted, muffed or caught by an ineligible A player who is behind, in or beyond the neutral zone is loss of 5 yards and loss of down.

(a) True
(b) False

User Ketan R
by
8.6k points

1 Answer

4 votes

Final answer:

The statement about the penalty for an ineligible player catching a forward pass in American football is false. The correct penalty is a five-yard penalty from the previous spot, but the down is replayed, not lost.

Step-by-step explanation:

The question relates to a specific rule in American football regarding an ineligible receiver. The correct statement is false. According to the National Football League (NFL) rules, if an ineligible player touches a forward pass before it is touched by an eligible receiver, it is a penalty. However, the penalty is not loss of down in addition to the five-yard penalty. The team is penalized five yards from the previous spot, but the down is replayed.

User Szymon Tomczyk
by
8.3k points
Welcome to QAmmunity.org, where you can ask questions and receive answers from other members of our community.