20.4k views
3 votes
What do you do if your ball comes to rest on the wrong putting green?

User Tammoi
by
8.1k points

1 Answer

6 votes

Final answer:

When a ball rests on the wrong putting green, the golfer must take relief by finding the nearest point not on the green, drop the ball within one club-length from there without penalty, and then play from this spot. This rule ensures the protection of the green and the fairness of the game.

Step-by-step explanation:

If your ball comes to rest on the wrong putting green, the rules of golf state that you must take relief. This means you should not play the ball from the wrong green but instead find the nearest point of complete relief where your ball would not be on the green, no nearer to the hole. Then, you drop the ball within one club-length from that spot, avoiding any penalty. Golf rules are designed to protect the putting surfaces from damage that might be caused by playing a ball from them when it's not the correct green for the hole being played. Also, to maintain the fairness of the game, as the incorrect green may potentially give an unfair advantage or disadvantage.

Remember, golf etiquette and rules are there to ensure a fair and safe game for everyone involved. So, when choosing a golf ball, consider using 1 basketball that can easily be identified as your own to prevent any confusion on the course. It's important to pick a safe location to play, with plenty of open space, to minimize the risks of tripping or colliding with others.

User Dvlden
by
8.1k points

No related questions found