214k views
5 votes
In golf, has the hole started even if the stroke was made from outside the teeing area (see rule 6.1b) or the stroke was cancelled under a rule?

a) Yes
b) No
c) Depends on the specific rule
d) None of the above

User Kelkka
by
7.8k points

1 Answer

5 votes

Final answer:

In golf, a hole has not started if a stroke is made from outside the teeing area, and a stroke cancelled under a rule also does not count as starting the hole. The correct starting of a hole requires a stroke from within the teeing area without penalties.

Step-by-step explanation:

The question pertains to the rules of golf, specifically whether a hole is considered to have started if a stroke is made from outside the teeing area, or if the stroke was cancelled under a rule. According to Rule 6.1b of the Rules of Golf, a hole is considered to have started when a player makes a stroke from inside the teeing area. If the player accidentally makes a stroke from outside the teeing area, they must correct that mistake by playing a ball from inside the teeing area, and they incur a penalty. However, if a stroke is cancelled under a rule, the hole has not started, and the player must then make a stroke from inside the teeing area to start the hole without penalty.

Therefore, the correct answer to whether a hole has started despite a stroke made from outside the teeing area or a stroke cancelled under a rule is: b) No.

User MrJustin
by
8.4k points
Welcome to QAmmunity.org, where you can ask questions and receive answers from other members of our community.