Final answer:
If the opposing team scores during a penalty, the first penalty may be terminated, and the player may return to play, but it depends on the specific rules of the sport. When penalties are consecutive, the player continues to serve the remaining time after a goal is scored.
Step-by-step explanation:
When a player in a sports game is given a penalty, they typically have to serve the time specified for the infraction. In the scenario described, the player has been issued two consecutive penalties totaling four minutes. If the opposing team scores during this penalty time, the rules can vary depending on the specific sport and league. Generally, in ice hockey, if the opposing team scores during a power play resulting from a minor penalty, the first penalty is terminated, and the player may return to the ice, assuming that there was only one penalty being served. The second minor penalty would then start being served. However, if the penalties are being served consecutively, the player must continue to serve the remaining time of the penalty. Since the question does not specify the sport, it is important to refer to the official rules for the correct procedure.