Final answer:
When a goalkeeper is penalized, another player serves the minor penalties while the net remains guarded. The designated player is typically one who was on the ice at the time. The misconduct penalty for the goalkeeper does not require anyone to sit in the penalty box but means the goalkeeper cannot participate for the duration of the penalty.
Step-by-step explanation:
In ice hockey, when a goalkeeper is penalized, they typically do not serve the penalty themselves. Instead, another player, usually one that was on the ice at the time of the infraction, will serve the minor and misconduct penalties on behalf of the goalkeeper. This is because having the goalkeeper sit in the penalty box would leave the net unguarded or require the team to replace the goalkeeper with a substitute, which could significantly disadvantage the team.
In the scenario described, after the goalkeeper receives a minor penalty for slashing followed by a minor penalty for unsportsmanlike conduct and then a misconduct penalty for continued abuse, the team has the option to designate a player to serve the combined duration of the minor penalties. The misconduct penalty does not require a player to sit in the box but rather involves the goalkeeper being sent off for a specific period of the game, generally 10 minutes.
The rules surrounding the serving of penalties by goalkeepers vary slightly depending on the governing body of the league (e.g., the NHL, IIHF, etc.), but in most cases, the coach of the penalized team will designate a player who was on the ice at the time of the infraction to serve the minor penalties. The game continues without the need for the goalkeeper to leave the net. For the misconduct penalty, no player needs to serve in the penalty box, but the penalized goalkeeper may not be able to participate in the game for the duration of that penalty.