Final answer:
In stroke play, a golfer who removes wood chips and properly takes relief under the abnormal course conditions relief Rule (16.1b) would not receive a penalty. (option 1)
Step-by-step explanation:
If a player's ball lies in the general area on a path that is covered with wood chips, and the player removes some chips and then properly takes relief under the abnormal course conditions relief Rule (16.1b), the correct ruling in stroke play would be that there is no penalty. Rule 16.1b allows players to take free relief from abnormal course conditions (including immovable obstructions such as a path with wood chips) by identifying the nearest point of complete relief and dropping the ball within one club length of that point, not nearer to the hole. However, if the chips were removed before taking proper relief (such as removing loose impediments in the wrong way), the player might incur a penalty depending on the circumstances.