231k views
1 vote
A Linesman has determined that a major penalty infraction has occurred unseen by the Referee and is waiting for the next stoppage of play to report to the Referee. The next stoppage of play occurs when the offending team scores a goal, whereupon the Linesman reports their version of the infraction. The Referee concurs that a major penalty plus the automatic misconduct penalty should be assessed. What procedures does the Referee follow?

User Liss
by
7.5k points

1 Answer

4 votes

Final answer:

A Linesman's reported major penalty after a goal results in the goal being disallowed and the offending player receiving a major penalty and an automatic misconduct penalty. The game resumes with a face-off in the designated zone.

Step-by-step explanation:

When a Linesman has determined that a major penalty infraction has occurred unseen by the Referee, and it is reported after the offending team scores a goal, the Referee should follow specific procedures to ensure the rules of the game are upheld. First, the goal scored by the offending team must be disallowed, as no goal can be scored on the same play during which a major penalty or a misconduct penalty is to be assessed. Next, the Referee will assess the major penalty to the offending player, which typically results in five minutes of play without the possibility of early release for a goal scored by the non-penalized team. Additionally, the automatic misconduct penalty will be recorded, requiring the penalized player to sit out for ten additional minutes. The game will then resume with a face-off in the appropriate zone as determined by the official rules of the sport.

User Jagthebeetle
by
7.4k points