13.8k views
5 votes
The referee has not had the opportunity to indicate that the free kick is indirect. A player takes a quick free kick, and the ball goes directly into the goal. What decision does the referee make?

1) Award a goal
2) Award a corner kick
3) Award a free kick to the opposing team
4) Award a penalty kick

1 Answer

5 votes

Final answer:

The referee would award a goal.

Step-by-step explanation:

The decision the referee makes when a player takes a quick free kick and the ball goes directly into the goal without indicating that the free kick is indirect is to award a goal. In soccer, an indirect free kick requires the ball to touch another player before a goal can be scored. However, since the referee did not have the opportunity to indicate that the free kick is indirect, and the ball went directly into the goal, a goal should be awarded to the team that took the free kick.

User DannyFeliz
by
8.6k points